Sir Graham informed both Theresa May, Boris Johnson and Liz Truss that their time was up. 

As chairman of the 1922 Committee, he has been responsible for collecting letters of no confidence in the party leader signed by Tory MPs. 

He broke the news of his standing down to his local paper, The Trafford Messenger, saying that at the time of the next election he will have served 27 years as the constituency’s MP, “becoming the longest serving member in the constituency’s history.”

Sir Graham wrote that representing his home town in Parliament has been an “immense privilege for which I will always be grateful.”

*This story has not been edited by The Infallible staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.